Explore County


The County's principal peace officer is the Shelby County Sheriff, who is elected every four years. The Sheriff and the Deputies are the law enforcement for the residents of Shelby County, plus provide contract law enforcement for the Cities of Defiance, Earling, Elk Horn, Irwin, Kirkman, Panama, Portsmouth, Shelby, Tennant, and Westphalia, based on a per capita charge.

The IowaVINE system is a service through which victims of crime can use the telephone or internet to search for information regarding the custody status of their offender and to register to receive telephone and email notification when the offender's custody status changes. The toll-free number for IowaVINE is 888-7-IAVINE or 888-742-8463. This service is provided to assist victims of crime who have a right to know about their offender's custody status.

You can view and like our Facebook page and stay up to date by clicking here.

Civil History Information Links Patrol Shelby County Jail 

Sheriff's office staff includes:

Neil Gross - Sheriff 83-1

Cody Eckles - Chief Deputy 83-2

Chad Butler - Sergeant 83-7

Nathan Pigsley (K-9 Odin) - K-9 Deputy 83-5

Braden Quist (K-9 Corty) - K-9 Deputy 83-9

Jacob Hoss - Deputy 83-4

Nathan Tibbets - Deputy 83-10

Bill McDaniel - Deputy 83-3

RJ Bielenberg - Deputy 83-201 ( School Resource Officer)

Lee Whyte - Deputy 83-8

Ben Wegner - Deputy 83-6

Last updated on Dec 10th, 2021.

Contact Information

Neil Gross

Shelby County Sheriff

Office and Jail

1104 9th Street

Harlan, Iowa 51537

Office Phone: 712.755.5026

Fax: 712.755.2481

Email: ngross@shco.org


Office Hours: 

Mon - Fri: 8 am-4 pm

The after-hours entrance is

located on the southwest

corner of the building.

Law Enforcement is provided

24 hours per day.

Shelby County Courthouse
612 Court Street
Harlan, Iowa 51537